Losing the edge

28 October 2010

It’s a few years old now, but I couldn’t help smiling when the LCD Soundsystem’s track ‘Losing My Edge’ popped up on my Shuffle this morning. If you don’t know it, it’s a tongue-in-cheek account of the history of what’s cool in music – by someone who thinks he’s lost it:

I hear you’re buying a synthesizer and an arpeggiator and are throwing your computer out the window because you want to make something real. You want to make a Yaz record.

I hear that you and your band have sold your guitars and bought turntables.

I hear that you and your band have sold your turntables and bought guitars.

I hear everybody that you know is more relevant than everybody that I know.

But have you seen my records?

It must be LCD’s best moment. Click on the image at the top to remind yourself.

Leave a Reply

